Skip Navigation
Town of Torrington CT
spacer
This table is used for column layout.
 
City Council
Contact TypeContact Information
 
Link to PageLink to Page
Members
Name
Term
Email Address
Mayor Elinor Carbone, Chairman
12/2/2013 - 12/4/2017
elinor_carbone@torringtonct.org
Gregg G. Cogswell
12/2/2013 - 12/7/2015
gregg_cogswell@torringtonct.org
Paul F. Samele, Jr.
12/2/2013 - 12/7/2015
paul_samele@torringtonct.org
Anne L. Ruwet
12/2/2013 - 12/7/2015
anne_ruwet@torringtonct.org
Christopher Anderson
12/2/2013 - 12/7/2015
christopher_anderson@torringtonct.org
Paul E. Cavagnero
12/2/2013 - 12/7/2015
paul_cavagnero@torringtonct.org
Drake L. Waldron
12/2/2013 - 12/7/2015
drake_waldron@torringtonct.org
The Board of Councilmen, commonly referred to as the City Council is the Legislative Board of the City.  The six members of the Board and Chairman, Mayor Ryan Bingham, supervise all departments and employees of the City with the exception of the Board of Education.

The Board of Councilmen is empowered by the general statues to make, alter, repeal and enforce all ordinances.  They are the legislative body of the City of Torrington.

The City Council holds its regular meetings on the first and third Mondays of the month at 6:30 PM in the Council Chambers.  If a holiday falls on Monday, the regular meeting will be held on Tuesday.  Public informational meetings will be held on the second and fourth Monday of the month, at the discretion of the Board.

City Council Subcommittees
2013 – 2015

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE
Anne Ruwet, CHM.
Christopher Anderson
Paul Cavagnero

ORDINANCE COMMITTEE
Gregg G. Cogswell, CHM.
Ann Ruwet
Paul Cavagnero

STREET LIGHT COMMITTEE
Paul Samele
Drake Waldron

SMALL CITIES COMMITTEE
Drake Waldron, CHM.
Christopher Anderson
Paul Samele


 

City of Torrington CT 140 Main Street Torrington CT 06790 Tel: 860 489-2228
Website Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Virtual Towns & Schools Website